Soundtrack to Ireland

Photo onbut 12-4-12 at 10.18 PM

For anyone that knows me really well, you know I’m a music junkie. I’m the girl walking down the hall with music blasting from her headphones you can probably hear the words and sing along with. I listen to music during practically every moment of my day, and while I’m not proud to say this sometimes it’s during conversations.

My favorite love to hate character from One Tree Hill once said, “Sometimes things find you when you need them to find you, I believe that. And for me it’s usually song lyrics.” – Peyton Sawyer

Though I didn’t agree with many of her actions, the above quote was the one thing Peyton and I saw eye to eye on. So with that being said, without further ado I present to you the soundtrack to my Ireland trip.

The first song I heard when stepping foot on Ireland soil was this one:

This was a song that randomly played on my Ipod, but it fit the day. After 7 hours of traveling, I arrived in a sleepy haze and I was “colliding” with Ireland in time and space.

The first song I played in the hotel room was:

The lyrics are sad, but the melody was so beautiful and fitting in the moment you wake up in a foreign land.

Sometimes it isn’t about the songs you know, but one’s you have to discover. I had a lovely chat with two Irish Gents downstairs in the hotel lobby of Camden Court Hotel and they introduced me to Imela May, a singer from The Liberities neighborhood.

Also, I would just like to mention, these men, despite the fact that they didn’t like Mario had great taste because they LOVED Justin Timberlake’s acting in the film “In Time.”

The song that started the tradition of the “Youtube Battle” with Mario was:

Jam sessions with Najja and Yvette pretty much resulted in us thinking we were in some 90s girl group. Take your pick.

But then there are times that you discover old favorites. On this trip, I re-discovered my love for Emimem and Ne-Yo. And pretty much listened to these songs everyday.

Another Peyton quote says, “You know I’ve got this theory, there are two kinds of people in the world. There are lyric people and music people. You know, the lyrics people tend to be analytical. You know, all about the meaning of the song. They’re the ones you see with the CD insert out like 5 minutes after buying it, pouring over the lyrics, interpreting the hell out of everything. Um, then there’s the music people, who could care less for the lyrics as long as its just got like a good beat and you could dance to it.”

This trip, I became both lyric and music person. I was immensely in love with the lyrics of songs like Eminem’s “Space Bound” but then I also loved the beat and freedom of belting out 90s hits like 3LW’s “No More” which has some of the worst most pop lyrics ever written. It was strange because I love lyrics, I like to think it stems from the fact I love and appreciate good writing, and the power that  a well-written song can have on your mood. But I love that I got to dabble on the music side for a bit.

And I can’t forget S club 7: I just love them
[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQcYGx_jzlU]

Leave a Reply

